May 10, 2004 - 2:01 p.m.

Hey Y'all,

To those of you who voted for us in the radio contest these past weeks, I want you to know that every one of you humble me. My Greatest Thanks is all I can presently offer in return, you deserve more. I know this. All I can say to that is Doug, John, Anthony and I will do our best not to let you down. You not only cast your votes, some massively so, you also showered us with a wealth of unsolicited words of encouragement, praise and kindness.

A heartfelt Thank You! from me and the guys.

Sure it sucks to lose to some Turk-182 mimeograph* band, but it's no big deal. Just being noticed, and played on the airwaves was a direct infusion of Awwww-Yeahhh for the soul!!

Besides, the real fun is most definitely still to come. Summer is knocking down the door and we have so much work to do. I have to keep in mind that I'm still the 'new guy,' and I have much work to do. Plus, we have yet to complete any new songs under this incarnation, which we're dedicated to remedy immediately.

It's usually a bit weird to be the new member in a pre-existing band situation, something which I have been privy to quite a few times in the past. Hell, if I've been in a hundred bands in my life, chances are I replaced a musician in ninety of them. And there always seems to be a lacuna left behind, like an amputee flexing it's non-existent fingers. That can sometimes make my job as prosthetic arm difficult, or even fruitless.

It's a rare thing for a band members to, well, band together all at once.

My sixth musical collaboration was one of those rare occasions, where we formed out of the nothing. We jelled, like an old mayo jar with a dirty tuna spoon left in it. It was such a great musical situation, we wrote music so well together and had a helluva lot of fun doing it.

That band was Eve's Ex-Boyfriends. I've always loved that name. The way it carried that obvious-yet-�bercool biblical undertone like Anna Nicole carried that extra hundred pounds, while silently snickering an inside joke where every member of the band had actually, at one time or another, gone out with an awesome girl named Eve. Even if it was just some one-minute formality of "going out" with her that the drummer experienced.

We would probably have still been together now, if not for some super-bad choices and foolish mistakes that I made way back when.

Where was I? Oh yeah, a facts that most of you are unaware of is that {public-domain} consists of two-quarters original Eve's Ex-boyfriends members (Doug and John) and one-quarter second generation EXB (Anthony).

So instead of feeling awkward because I'm the new kid on the block, I feel awkward because I've kind of been silently forgiven for a number of past transgressions. Despite the fact that I was probably a total dick to them and was completely in the wrong, Doug and John forgive me and welcome me back as an equal parter in their musical efforts.

How cool are they for that?
Answer: Very Fuckin' Cool!

Plus, as I've said before, I fucking love being the bassist.

--dave

* ten {public-domain} cool points to anyone who knows what either of those are.

[previous]����[ next]

add email, get notified:
��
run by super rock powah!