-

all material copyrighted 2002-2003-cost-fu music-lyrics-scenicweather music.d.wortel


Adopt A Highway

I adopt this highway,

Incase my memory gets lost,

This stretch is for the single mothers,

And the uncertain roads they cross�

She took the kids and all the photo albums,

She packed the linens and popped two valiums,

Then climbed into the car,

Windows down�

She pulled into a crowded truck stop,

Picked up some tapes and bought the kids some gumdrops,

Tomorrow is long and black,

With dotted lines.

I adopt this highway,

And I don�t care how much it costs,

Your smile snuck out that day and

sang a happy highway song,

And we sang along�!

La La La,

La La La,

La La,

La La La, (2X)

How much further?

Are we almost there? Where are we now?

How much longer?

Are we almost there? Where are we now?

I adopt this highway,

Incase my memory gets lost,

This stretch is for the single mothers,

And the uncertain roads they cross�

As we drive along�

La La La,

La La La,

La La,

La La La, (2X)

How much further?

Are we almost there? Where are we now?

How much longer?

Are we almost there? Where are we now?


Angels Don�t Write Things Down

I know you�re there,

Why are you hiding?

You can have all my secrets now,

If you�ll be my witness�

I lie on the couch,

Awake from my sleep,

I hear the waitress slash actress,

Upstairs through the ceiling,

Like clockwork she�s up and about sobbing loudly,

I think she�s rehearsing but I�m hardly concerned,

I hope she doesn�t keep this up all afternoon�

My very best,

Is exactly your standard,

I feel you closer now,

Have I finally been counted?

The waitress upstairs is screaming out madly,

There are children outside playing tag in the yard,

One of the children fell cursing,

Another laughed at his brother,

Another Sunday I�m restless and my poor head hurts�

Let�s have this out lord,

I know deep down this is your doing!

We had an understanding,

You�re in clear violation,

And now I must write this down,

You never allow me to sleep in on Sunday,

What promise is kept when I finally sleep in forever?

Stars die on fire,

Deer get shot grazing,

My head the mocking bird,

Keeps my hands from praying�

I�m a creature of habit

Designed to observe his behavior,

Who will disclose all that I have witnessed?

Angels don�t write things down,

You never allow me to sleep in on Sunday,

What promise is kept when I finally sleep in�

I know you�re there,

Why are you hiding?

You can have all my secrets now,

If you�ll be my witness,

I listen close,

Upstairs it�s so quiet,

Not a creek from the floorboards,

Not a peep from outside,

All the windows in the building,

One by one blink to black,

The moon and the sky both have exchanged their vows,

Let�s have this out lord,

At this point I�m sure no one is looking,

Who will defend me in your court of judgment?

Angels don�t write things down,

You never allowed me to sleep in on Sunday,

What promise is kept when I finally sleep in forever?


Walk, Don�t Run

Cirrus clouds posing for satellites,

Modeling daydreams for the atmosphere,

What was that?

I can�t hear you,

Your signal is breaking up,

END OF TRANSMISSION.

Stop, walk, don�t run,

Attempting,

Contact,

Seems to always trip me up.

Think I�ll just�

Stop, walk, don�t run,

Why in such a hurry?

What are you so afraid of?

Superconductor in the third rail,

One dangerous local celebrity,

More Pop Rocks and Cola,

Crocodiles down the sewer pipes,

Checking for local times�

(Chorus)

They said a tidal wave would come and wave bye bye to California,

Along the border of Nevada people waitin� with their fishing gear,

And I�m standing on the corner with my woman on my shoulder,

As she leans into my neck and whispers, �What the hell we doin� here?�

((((((THE SKY IS FALLING. HERE WE GO)))))


Dead On My Feet

I want so badly to understand,

Why you never reach home plate,

Why you never hit the mark,

Why you never win the race,

There�s a warden in your head,

Whose got you doing time,

He lulls you safe to sleep,

But he keeps me up all night!

You throw your arms up screaming hallelujah,

While you�re surrendering,

I told you once that good things rise up all around you,

You told yourself that you are just plain sinking.

But I�m tired oh so tired-

Dead on my feet

I work so hard chasing answers,

That are within your reach,

I keep waiting oh how long I�ve waited,

I�ll just repeat

That I�m tired oh so tired�

I�m Dead on my feet

So shake me!

How many times can I watch you star,

In this same movie with no cast,

I can�t save you in the end,

Because your villains wear no masks,

I�m no superhero man,

I never learned to fly,

I�m no foreign gypsy prince,

But I can always read your mind�

(Chorus)


All Single File

I overheard them in the checkout line,

Talking mess about some girl,

The taller gentleman was no gentleman at all,

Not even by my standards�

But they were moving on,

So I moved along,

We were moving on,

So I move along�

I�m not one to dwell but I won�t forget the day,

I stared at The Post headline,

Our firehouse widow from Ladder 451,

She got remarried and wore white,

I guess she�s moving on,

We should move along,

We�re moving on,

So move along�

Precious are such weighed down things that tug hard at my reigns,

Like balloon strings on a lamppost from last summer�s parade,

My season is just around the bend my fine weather friend,

What secret message do you keep and just when is it sent?

Don�t tell me now it�s time to move on�

Don�t tell me now it�s time to move on�

Children marching single file,

Drop ashes in the well,

Kiss beloved friends goodbye,

Then bow face back again.


The Dolls

In tender times,

That�s when they seize you,

But break them once,

And they�ll die to please you,

Fragile are these words expressed,

And what they represent�

Simple math they�ll teach you later,

With a filthy heirloom calculator,

Divide the kind words that were said,

Subtract the sentiment�

I embrace you little dolls

With your broken limbs and all

Chasing after plastic masters

With such na�ve sense�

Don�t keep cowards in confidence,

I know your keeper�s every last defense,

They dress you up,

Oh boy, they dress you up.

They�ll twist off your heads if they see you smile,

Forget what you�ve seen they�ll replace your eyes,

Still your arms reach out �cause you know you want them,

I know you want them �cause I want them too!

Protect your hearts you latch key bastards,

Don�t burn your beds with imago matches,

Keep in mind what I�ve just said,

I promise it all makes sense,

If your clothes are torn I�ve sworn to sew them,

You know my shop is always open,

I�d recognize you in the dark,

The boys with the melted parts�

I embrace you little dolls

With your broken limbs and all

Chasing after plastic masters

With such na�ve sense�


The (W)hole In Us Both

I built this strong house

Out of matchbooks from such lonely places,

I can hear you outside,

Threatening to tear this all down,

And you blew me a kiss,

Lined with the kindness of strangers,

It found its way in,

Now the damn roof is on fire,

Let the mother fucker burn.

I rest my head

On the secrets we keep in our pillows,

And the ones we held dear,

Become obstacles slowing the road,

I visit your ghost,

It�s possessing me now through the sheets,

And it won�t let me go,

I�m holding out for dear life,

Dear life

What a life.

Now you�ve taken my skin but before we begin I ask

Why Oh Why?

Did we swallow the sun through the holes in us both? I ask:

Why oh Why?

Did my chemicals crash like some beautiful cancer.

Why oh Why?

My head wants to run my heart thinks it knows better.

That liar liar! You liar!

In a parallel life right now I�d be holding your hand.

And wake up right where you are day after day

Lord, I�d trade a lifetime for one night�

I open my eyes and everything is familiar

One more stain on my bed one more brick in this prison

You�re still under my skin like some sinister splinter

Why oh Why?

The hole in us both has just drank up the river

Why oh Why?

And my chemicals spill down just left of center

Why oh Why?

My head wants to run my heart thinks it knows better.

You liar! Liar! You liar!


Dead Air: Hey, Whatya playin�? I don�t recognize that sound, You�re makin� my radio, Give fellatio in the back of some salesman�s ride. Swing, The antenna, Back and forth, It doesn�t sound much better, Who wants to dance, To that wholesale trash? I�m taking matters in my own hands! So� I killed the DJ on the request line, I broke his back, With a cheap turntable, That I swung right at his spine, Every city tuned in that night, The broadcast was sponsored, By absolutely nothing, �Cause every jam I played was right! Bling Bling, Target market, While Trojan horses, Take the projects, You know those hard thug-lives that they advertise, Are just counterfeits in disguise. I killed the DJ on the request line, This one goes out, To whom got suckered in the markup, You should�ve stolen it all outright! I hope my baby is tuning in tonight, Before the cops get word, I�m gonna drop this track, Then slip quietly out the back� Knock out the tower� Knock out the tower� I had no choice in the matter, In fact you gave me option, They say I shouldn�t shoot the messenger, I bet you got the message didn�t ya? I killed the DJ on the request line, I broke his back, With a cheap turntable, That I swung right at his spine, Every city tuned in that night, The broadcast was sponsored, By absolutely nothing, �Cause every jam I played was right!

[previous]����[ next]

add email, get notified:
��
run by super rock powah!