July 22, 2003 - 11:42 p.m.

Anthony:

Today was the first day we�ve gotten together since the show on July 4th and our vibe was at 100%. We all knew that the first thing we going to deal with today was getting the studio back up and running. About a month or two ago we took down John�s electric drums and replaced them with his real drums. I like the rest of the band enjoyed having them up because when playing with real drums you can really feel them when with the electric drums you hear them fine through speakers, but it�s just not the same. Playing with the acoustic set made us all have to turn up louder then we ever have before. This being one of the disadvantages so today we decided to put the electric kit back up giving us the opportunity to turn it down a notch or two�all right maybe five or six notches.

One day during practice my friend Jack was walking up my block (my house being the first on the block) and he heard us all the way from the other end. Even recently John took a walk around the corner and was able to hear Doug and I kickin some KISS songs, and when he came back he couldn�t believe how loud it was.

Well, back to my original point�we not only had to take down the acoustic set and put back up the electric set, but we also had to get the basement back into some kind of order. There is a small room in the front of the basement that we were considering turning into a control room so we can start recording. The room is surrounded by cornet, which makes for great soundproofing. Thinking we found the prefect room we cleared it out and shoved whatever was in there into what was a kitchen back in the day. We went out bought some building supplies to cover this mess of a wall that was there. In the end we found out the room was very damp in turn being a bad idea to set up very expensive recording equipment in the room only to be destroyed. Even today when we went into the room the floor was wet thank the good lord we didn�t go through with it. Sometime last year the guys and I had ripped the floor, sink and some cabinets out of the old kitchen and eventually this room will serve well as our control room. We still need to take the ceiling down but once that�s all done I am going to rebuild the room.

Putting everything back together took us about three hours, but when it was done it was worth it. Since the show Doug has been in his house writing a new song that I was hoping we would get to work on today. Hearing it over the phone was torture because I was unable to understand it. From what I knew of the song it was almost complete with melody and lyrics. I had asked him last night if he wanted to work on it today and he seemed a little reluctant about it because it was not done. Knowing he wouldn�t be able to hold back, out of no where he started playing it just before John and I were done finishing up the last few connections. Mike picked up his bass and started messin around with the idea. At first I was thinking piano for this tune, but hearing the song I felt it needed to be a little more on the intense side so I picked up my guitar for this one. Once John started kickin his beats it all began to come together.

I have to say that Doug is a great songwriter he has the full package when it comes down to it. He is very inspiring and I enjoy working with lad. I can�t wait till the song is polished I really think it�s going to be a great addition to our play list.

Well, Thursday we are going to finish getting the recording part of the studio together, and what ever else needs to be done. Then it will be back to rockin again in full effect.

[previous]����[ next]

add email, get notified:
��
run by super rock powah!