November 04, 2003 - 00:00

Dear Diary,

We took a little break from shows so we can spend some time writing some new stuff. It was really great not having to play our set for a couple of weeks and just having some time to play around with some new sounds. So far the new songs are a lot darker than usual. I�m not entirely sure there is a specific reason for that other than that�s just what is coming out of us right now.

The one song that is completely finished is called, Clockface. I haven�t really been sleeping right the last couple of months due to the fact that I just quit smoking so I guess that�s what inspired this one. Actually who am I kidding? The song is about the same thing that Cyndi Lauper song �She Bop� was about. I�ll just post the lyrics below this entry.

I don�t remember if I ever mentioned this on the diary before but the group has this funny ritual we got through during the writing process. Whenever we have a bit or a riff we are working on, we give them working titles that are ridiculous. Since a lot of the time my lyrics are written after we have a large chunk of the music done I try not to give really slick working titles to songs anymore because if the title is really cool I�ll try to write a song based solely on that, which only leads to me wanting to bash my own skull against a sharp rock. That�s like trying to paint a really pretty sky because you happened to draw a really nice bird. It rarely ever works.

Instead we give our songs temporary names that are based on different medications. If I remember correctly Adopt A Highway was called Zyprexa for a long time until we finished it completely. I think Bonez would know better than me because he archives everything. If I belched and a tape recorder was in the room, Bonez has it filed away in alphabetical order somewhere. I am mentioning this because so far the other new songs we are working on are called,

Procrit, Retinol, and Celebrex. That�s what they are called for now until we finish them.


We were supposed to be playing the East Village Halloween Ball last week, which would have been really fun but the guy who books it is nothing short of a god damned moron. Seriously, I called him everyday for almost a month and he just couldn�t get it together in terms of times, equipment stuff, and whether or not there was even going to be a slot for a rock act. So yeah that fell through because the guy who books the goings on there is hopelessly disorganized.


Saturday afternoon the guys and I are going to shoot some straight ahead footage of us in Coney Island. We may also be doing a photo-shoot with a really great photographer. That�s a whole lot of picture taking. I am really working on actually grinning in my photos now. I always look like I am about to beat up the cameraman, except I really can�t fight so I would just ring your bell and run. The live shots are okay because half the time I don�t know I�m being photographed but photo-shoots are generally the worst because I have no idea how I am supposed to look when I am just standing in a lineup with the rest of the guys. I feel bad for any photographer who has to waste his or her day taking photos of four guys with stupid looks on their faces. We look so stupid because we�re all thinking�

Do I look at the camera? Should I project that pensive thing Bono does? Do I pretend to be talking to Mike? Is John�s head even in the photo? Is Anthony going to make horns behind my head again? Yeah, photo shoots are a drag.

The video footage we are shooting is going to be edited in with some live footage and made into a very low budget music video that will be broadcast from our Website at the beginning of the year.

We are also trying to put together a webcam thingie in our rehearsal space so once a month we can broadcast our practices while you write awful things to us in our guest book. That should be fun. I already plan to play hooky from practice once in a while just so I can stay home and watch the other guys and write captions under the Web cam screen. I love technology!


We have a couple of shows coming up. In December we are back at the Baggot Inn because that place never gets enough of us and we can�t seem to get enough of it. We also have a show coming up in Coney Island. That one I am REALLY looking forward to. That date isn�t confirmed yet but should be very soon.

I think that pretty much covers everything. I hope to be updating again soon.

Doug


Clockface

The facet is dripping I can�t sleep,

My bad ideas now all got rhythm,

(((((((((((((Echoes))))))))))))))))

Bouncing down my hallway walls,

Make for tick tock dreams,

Come morning I�ll think,

Tick tock thoughts,

My clockface is frowning,

I lost my inventory of sheep,

The comforts of creatures,

Are entertaining in my sleep,

In my sleep�

I think the neighbors are up,

They might become concerned,

We wouldn�t want that would we?

-Now I-

Cower in my sheets,

Wondering what they heard,

What do they know?

What will they do?

My clockface is frowning,

Time disapproves of moments like these,

A rendezvous with I miss you,

Could only happen in my sleep,

My pride got distracted and I made a mess,

Sweating ungodly hours bating ungodly breaths,

I can�t forget.

Now I can�t rest.

The facet is dripping I can�t sleep,

My bad ideas in graceful rhythms,

(((((((((((((Echoes))))))))))))))))

Bouncing down my hallway walls,

Make tick tock dreams,

Come morning I�ll think,

Tick tock thoughts.

[previous]����[ next]

add email, get notified:
��
run by super rock powah!