May 26, 2003 - 2:44 p.m.

THE FIRST REHEARSAL...again.

Our friend Jack was explaining to me how my compressor pedal works when Mike walked in. I was pretty much in my own world Thursday night because I am pretty preoccupied lately. My wife is on a heart monitor to keep track of her panic attacks and everyday feels more and more like I am still catching up to the day before, and people wonder why I seem so hyper all the time. When the four of us started playing I just let go of everything. Bonez and I threw together a plan on the dry eraser board that we actually stuck to. It was a list of our songs that we consider staples in the set. It also included songs that needed work, and a set of jams with working titles that we could play with to break the monotony.

Whether it was �The Dolls,� or �The (W)hole In Us Both.� Everything just sounded great. I got so into the songs again as if we wrote them all yesterday. �Angels Don�t Write Things Down� sounded particularly amazing. It was our first rehearsal with the original lineup and it felt really great. I hadn�t broke a sweat during rehearsing in quite a while.

We began constructing a new song out of a jam that Ant and John had come up with. So far it�s very good however the dynamics of the tune need a lot of work. Here is the arrangement so far�

1. Little piano intro

2. BAND GETS REAL LOUD

3. Band makes little room for some lyrics while still remaining very loud.

4. Band makes tricky time change during instrumental sections that Douglas just barely has a hold of.

5. Band then gets quiet and pretty

6. Somber weirdo ending thingie with a happy coda

That goes on for exactly two minutes and fifty seconds.

There is a great song in there somewhere I just have to spend my weekend finding it.

In other news, I found four count �em four new Meg White pictures to put up in my corner of the studio.

During last rehearsal we also took a break to discuss other important matters that have preoccupied us for quite some time. For example, how hot Shakira looks in that new Reebok commercial. Jesus Christ, God should really put his signature on works of art like that�

Some of us exchanged stories regarding particular experiences with that commercial. The room got quiet when I admitted that I own her unplugged DVD. Mike�s story was worse!

[previous]����[ next]

add email, get notified:
��
run by super rock powah!